Semi Final

11 teams participated.

Nine teams qualify for Shirin Saaz-te-Awaaz final

9 Teams made it to SHIRIN – Saaz te Awaaz Finals at DPS Srinagar.

The semi final round of Shirin – Saaz Te Awaaz at DPS Srinagar had distinguished guests whose presence made the event more charming. There were 11 participating teams along with the host team DPS Srinagar whose performance added a flavour to the participation.

The guests of honour were Naeem Akhtar The Hon’ble Education Minster Government J&K, Ghulam Hassan Mir former agriculture minister and Dr. Shah Faesal (IAS) Director School Education Kashmir.

Naeem Akhtar in his address to the audience regretted that he should have been part of the Shirin event from the begining, but due to his official engagemnents he could not attend this mega event. He also said the students coming from remote areas who despite not being well equipped with musical instruments are performing here, which is a matter of great pride and must be aprreciated by all of us. He said it’s not about winning or losing, for me all the participants are winners. He also announced 1 lac rupees to be given to the participating teams in the finals.

Ghulam Hassan Mir is his address to the audience said “The talent of students to translate the prayer in “lab-pe-aati” into Kashmiri made the prayer feel closer to the hearts. It unified everyone standing under the roof and made them cross hands over their hearts. He also said we must put our hands together and come forward to take such initiatives for the promotion of our culture and preservation of our mother tongue.

Famous singer Shameema Azad after listening to the performances of Shirin in her message to the organizers said “Wonderful folk wanwun. If God gives me my voiceand strength back I will definitely sing and record these melodious songs. She also congratulated Shirin team”.

Judges for the day were Ustad Hakeem Ghulam Mohammad, Jenab Qazi Rafi, Deepali Wattal and Kishan Langoo.

9 teams made it to the finals which is schdeuled on 19th September. Teams include DMPS Pampore, Dream Land Educational Institute Ganderbal, Govt Boys High School Pantha Chowk Srinagar, Presentation Convent Higher Secondary School Rajbagh, Govt Girls Higher School Bandipora, Govt High School Shadipora, Dr. AGM’s City School Nowgam Srinagar, DPS Budgam and Govt Boys High School Sadhoonara.